Scotland & England 809 nm

Motoring the Inverness and Crinan Canals, hiking Ben Nevis, sampling fine Scotch and more.

Clicking on a yellow marker will center that marker in the middle of the map and show the date and title of the blogpost in the popup. Clicking the link in the popup will open the blogpost itself. Sometimes the yellow markers are on top of each other; you can separate them by zooming in. Clicking on the map shows a marker with the latitude and longitude of the clicked spot. You can also drag the map to a different location, as well as zoom in and out.

Blogposts for Scotland & England

# Date Published Writer Title Map
138 Thursday, September 1, 2016 Stephanie Hello, Scotland! Map
139 Wednesday, September 28, 2016 Mark Traveling the Caledonian Canal Map
140 Thursday, September 29, 2016 Mark Loch Ness Map
141 Friday, September 30, 2016 Mark Invergarry Castle and a loop hike at Loch Lochy Map
142 Saturday, October 1, 2016 Mark Inverlochy Castle and Ben Nevis Distillery Map
143 Sunday, October 2, 2016 Mark Hiking to the summit of Ben Nevis – highest point in the British Isles Map
144 Monday, October 3, 2016 Mark A Day Trip in Scotland: Falkirk Wheel and the Kelpies Map
145 Thursday, October 13, 2016 Mark Traveling to Tobermory Map
146 Friday, October 14, 2016 Mark Tobermory to Crinan via the Maelstrom Map
147 Saturday, October 15, 2016 Mark Traveling the Crinan Canal Map
148 Sunday, October 16, 2016 Mark Crinan to Glasgow Map
149 Wednesday, October 19, 2016 Mark Notes about my visit to s/v Detour Map
151 Monday, October 24, 2016 Stephanie News from the Colonists Map
152 Thursday, October 27, 2016 Stephanie Yachties, Hippies, and Steam Trains Map

Tracklogs

Title Date Distance Time Speed Straight Stay Between
105 Caledonian Canal Entrance Tue 23 August 2.8 1 hour, 50 minutes 1.5 0.7 21 hours, 15 minutes --
106 Clachnaharry to Urquhart Wed 24 August 14.0 5 hours, 18 minutes 2.6 11.5 15 hours, 49 minutes 0.4
107 08-25A Thu 25 August 0.4 16 minutes 1.5 0.4 5 hours, 23 minutes --
108 08-25B Thu 25 August 14.4 3 hours, 9 minutes 4.6 13.7 16 hours, 6 minutes --
109 8-26A Fri 26 August 0.4 52 minutes 0.5 0.3 2 hours, 8 minutes --
110 8-26B Fri 26 August 6.1 1 hour, 54 minutes 3.2 5.6 17 hours, 57 minutes --
111 Castle Bay to Achnacarry Sat 27 August 10.5 2 hours, 8 minutes 4.9 10.0 3 hours, 25 minutes --
112 Achnacarry to Neptune's Staircase Sat 27 August 7.4 1 hour, 42 minutes 4.3 6.5 3 days, 21 hours --
113 Neptune's Staircase to Corpach Wed 31 August 0.8 1 hour, 58 minutes 0.4 0.6 17 hours, 14 minutes 0.6
114 Corpach to Lochaline Thu 1 September 34.9 6 hours, 9 minutes 5.7 28.0 18 hours, 57 minutes --
115 Lochaline to Tobermory Fri 2 September 13.5 2 hours, 56 minutes 4.6 11.0 1 day, 16 hours --
116 Tobermory to Crinan Sun 4 September 76.8 12 hours, 46 minutes 6.0 35.7 14 hours, 51 minutes --
117 Crinan to dock Mon 5 September 5.0 6 hours 0.8 3.8 1 hour, 3 minutes --
118 Crinan Mon 5 September 2.0 33 minutes 3.6 1.7 15 hours, 38 minutes --
119 Lochgilphead to Wreck Bay Tue 6 September 24.7 6 hours, 45 minutes 3.7 11.0 16 hours, 31 minutes --
120 Wreck bay to Glasgow Wed 7 September 38.0 8 hours, 23 minutes 4.5 29.7 5 days, 17 hours 4.7
121 Glasgow to Aran Tue 13 September 44.7 7 hours, 9 minutes 6.2 31.9 14 hours, 47 minutes --
122 Aran to Belfast Part 1 Wed 14 September 9.6 1 hour, 43 minutes 5.6 9.0 1 hour, 34 minutes 10.1
123 Aran to Belfast Part 2 Wed 14 September 45.8 8 hours, 35 minutes 5.3 43.8 3 days, 20 hours --
124 Belfast to Falmouth Part 1 Sun 18 September 152.4 1 day 6.3 120.5 -- --
125 Belfast to Falmouth Part 2 Mon 19 September 148.2 1 day 6.1 145.6 -- --
126 Belfast to Falmouth Part 3 Tue 20 September 47.5 9 hours, 43 minutes 4.9 26.3 1 day, 6 hours --
127 Helford to Falmouth Thu 22 September 5.9 1 hour, 34 minutes 3.7 4.1 1 day, 4 hours --
128 Falmouth to Ruan creek Fri 23 September 5.6 1 hour, 18 minutes 4.3 4.6 1 day, 17 hours --
129 Ruan creek to Malpas Sun 25 September 2.1 45 minutes 2.8 0.7 6 hours, 58 minutes --
130 Mapas to Fal River Sun 25 September 3.9 57 minutes 4.1 1.0 13 hours, 4 minutes --
131 Fal River to Falmouth Mon 26 September 5.4 1 hour, 43 minutes 3.1 4.2 2 hours, 58 minutes --
132 Falmouth to Helford Mon 26 September 6.4 1 hour, 18 minutes 4.9 4.2 2 days, 3 hours --
133 0928 Wed 28 September 1.1 34 minutes 1.9 1.0 17 hours, 5 minutes --
134 Inner Helford to Falmouth Thu 29 September 7.2 2 hours, 21 minutes 3.1 4.4 18 hours, 15 minutes --
135 Falmouth to Dartmouth Fri 30 September 67.8 12 hours, 12 minutes 5.6 58.3 14 hours, 48 minutes --
136 Dartmouth to the dock Sat 1 October 2.1 34 minutes 3.6 1.8 22 hours, 11 minutes 0.5
137 Dartmouth dock to Dittisham Sun 2 October 1.6 26 minutes 3.7 1.5
All distances are in nautical miles (1 nautical mile = 1.852 kilometers ≈ 1.15 statute miles). Speed is in knots, i.e., nautical miles per hour. The Distance column is the actual distance traveled connecting all the points on the GPS track. Time is how long the passage took. The Straight distance is between the beginning and ending points of the track. Stay indicates the length of time between this track and the next. On overnight or multiday voyages this is often zero, as the current track is ended and a new one started. Between indicates if there is any significant distance between the end of this track and the start of the next.